Jasmine Tea & Jiaozi is two years old this month! – zhe ge yue wo de boke liang sui!!


It’s two years since I moved to Beijing and started this blog, so I feel a mini-celebration is in order.

What a tumultuous two years it has been:

I  had four small  strokes (in quick succession) during my first year in Beijing, and was flown to a hospital in Hong Kong for treatment. My left side is not great, my eyesight has taken a bashing, but so far the little grey cells seem more-or-less intact – TBTG!

My dear Dad died – and I will never stop missing him.

I have become a Grandmother –  and my grandson is the apple of my Skype eye,

He is the most intelligent, charming, beautiful boy in the entire universe as far as I am concerned!

I have flown back and forth between China, the USA and the UK, what would Marco Polo say about such quick and easy travel?

I have kept sending out my bi-weekly General Knowledge Quiz; (if you are interested in getting it, please say so in a comment).

In the spaces between all of the above,  I have been pressing on with learning Mandarin, and trying to keep focussed on supporting my DH, exploring China and discovering as much as I can about how its people live and love and earn their daily bread.

A HUGE thank you to everyone who has read my blog, encouraged me, supported me, entertained me – and to Sir Tim Berners-Lee for inventing the World Wide Web without which none of this would be possible.

About herschelian

Recently moved to Beijing from London - its all new to me! Trying to learn Chinese, and what makes this city tick.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jasmine Tea & Jiaozi is two years old this month! – zhe ge yue wo de boke liang sui!!

  1. Sheila Taylor says:

    What a lovely blog. I can and can’t believe it is two years since you left. It seems to have gone by in a flash – there is always so much going on. It also seems like ages because I miss you such a lot and want to whizz up the road for a coffee and a gossip and you are not there…

  2. marj says:

    Me too can’t believe a whole 2 years – seems like yesterday when we had lunch with you and talked China……..Take care my dear……Angus looks too cute for words….off to NY tomoz ….

  3. Murray says:

    Happy Birthday blog. I’m going to get Skype soon so we can see each other more often. I would like to be on your general knowledge list if you think it’s not too European. Much love to you all/both

Leave a Reply

