Hao jiu bu jian! 好久不见 Long time no see!


It has been a long time since I blogged. There are umpteen reasons why, but mostly because I was Mum at 91away from China for 2+ months, the whole of August and September.

So what was I doing during that time?  I was staying in Scotland with my mum who is now 91, and still in terrific shape mentally and physically.

Pittenweem harbourWhilst there, we had a succession of visitors to stay – family and friends. We enjoyed glorious and not-so glorious weather during the Pittenweem Arts Festival where we bought this terrific lino-cut picture of our family house by local artist Susie Lacome.

susie-lacome-pittenweem-harbour-linocut-brochurenw

Many lobster and chip lunches at the East Pier Cafe Smokehouse in St Monans were enjoyed!

My SGBF enjoying lobster 'n chips!

My SGBF enjoying lobster ‘n chips!

The DH, Mum and I flew down to a family wedding in the south of England – Brighton to DSC_8189be precise.  It was such a happy few days, the sun shone, the bride looked radiant, and the groom looked ecstatically happy.  Wedding cakeMy sister made them the most amazing chocolate and pistachio wedding cake.

Back in Pittenweem, I had what seemed like endless medical tests – honestly my arm was like a pin-cushion after so much blood work.  All clear on most tests, one was done just before we left and am still awaiting the results.

Having purchased as many books as I could physically fit into our luggage, and stocked up on supplies of oatcakes,  jelly and chutney  it was time to come back to Beijing.

So here I am in China again – how was YOUR summer?

About herschelian

Recently moved to Beijing from London - its all new to me! Trying to learn Chinese, and what makes this city tick.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hao jiu bu jian! 好久不见 Long time no see!

  1. Chris says:

    Welcome back (I guess). How could you stand to leave such a beautiful place?! After watching the whole Doc Martin series I actually dreamed of moving to such a spot. Glad you’re back in BJ so I can see you soon.

  2. Cynthia Gibling says:

    I’m so happy to read your blog. I have been wondering if you are OK. Gosh, you’ve set me wondering too about making our long-planned trip to Scotland as my family hailed from Fife and I’ve never been. Maybe next summer … (My great-grandfather was Thomas Aitken who, I believe moved to Lincolnshire from Fife and I have seen St. Monans in some of the info I’ve hoarded) Lobster and chips, eh. Very tempting is that.

  3. camparigirl says:

    Good to see you back! and I will skim over the details of my awful Summer…

  4. Sheila Taylor says:

    What’s a SGBF??? Can you email me copies of the photos from our weekend? Thanks mon amie. Xx

  5. Delia Charton says:

    Another lovely blog, Jo! Lovely pic of your mum…..looking so like Lesley…..or is it the other way round?

    Was the wedding, Lesley’s son? And, my reading lens is needing upward adjustment, tell me about the cake!

    We’re off to Mauritius on Thursday for 3 weeks. Have no idea how I shall amuse myself for so long, but……I’m going with the flow!

    LL Dxxx

    Delia Charton “Poplar Grove” 6, The Valley Close Constantia 7806 W. Cape South Africa

    271, Main Road Eastcliffe Hermanus 7200

    >

Leave a Reply

