Three cheers! M&S in BJ at last.


Sorry if this post seems a bit parochial, but I am (along with other Brits who live in Beijing) thrilled to bits that at long last Marks and Sparks are opening a shop here. And about time too!

Hong Kong has had at least one, possibly two, M&S’s  for yonks; Shanghai has had an M&S since 2008, Wuhan (Wuhan! a 2nd tier city) has had M&S for a year or two – but Beijing – the Capital City of China – has never seen hide nor hair of the company. We have felt slighted….the place BJ

Finally it is happening. A huge store is opening at the end of the year here in BJ. It is located in     The Place’ 北京市朝阳区光华路甲9号世贸天阶文化广场 , a smart central mall which boasts the world’s largest digital canopy covering the outdoor area of the plaza, and which they call ‘a sky screen’ showing LED pictures, adverts, and amazing footage of dolphins at play, and other underwater scenes. The location has many well known European shops, eg: Zara, and lots of excellent restaurants, not to mention Costa Coffee, Starbucks etc.

the place BJ Sky screenI’m not sure why I’m so pleased that M&S is opening – back in the UK I don’t shop there that often – its just that it makes me feel that we Brits do have something to offer to the world…knickers, socks, toffees, marmalade, bath essence, wooley jumpers …

The one thing that M&S will show to Beijingers is that customer service is paramount, and that simple items, properly produced and well packaged beat cheap crap every day of the week.

About herschelian

Recently moved to Beijing from London - its all new to me! Trying to learn Chinese, and what makes this city tick.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three cheers! M&S in BJ at last.

  1. camparigirl says:

    From New York Sue wants you to know they have Woolworth’s in South Africa (their M&S equivalent) and she loves it (and so did I when I went). The art in that mall looks fantastic!

    • herschelian says:

      Oh Sue, I know Woolies very well indeed! The summer after I left school in Cape Town I worked in the main Woolworths store in central CT, in the women’s clothing department, It was an eye-opener in more ways than one, and at the end of each day my feet were killing me! Nowadays I think Woolies could teach M&S a thing or two – especially about fresh produce…

  2. Jennie says:

    Whilst I am prepared to admit that I worked with you in Woolies all those years ago, I suppose I should keep quiet on the wider subject! Here’s hoping you shop for loads in the M&S in Beijing and that it more than fulfills your comments about good quality and service! Xxx

  3. Marj Wilson says:

    As a fellow Woolies and M&S shopper, was wondering whether the foodie section will be present in Beijing and if so what will the delights be…..you’ll have to let us know? By the way IKEA opened a small outlet in Norfolk(back of beyond) today!!!

  4. Sheila Taylor says:

    Good – get shopping and help to fund my pension! X

  5. equinoxio21 says:

    Before I finished your text, I was thinking “orange marmalade”.
    🙂

  6. Steven Kirk says:

    One more advantage to having an M&S – the tantalizing possibility of seasonal foods like Christmas cake. A few years ago we found tiny slivers of iced Christmas cake in a M&S in HK and thought we had stumbled on treasure. Well, Changsha is only now announcing the future arrival of its first Ikea, so who knows how long it’ll be before M&S arrives?

Leave a Reply

