Ice and a slice – Gin & Tonic in Harbin


There’s cold, and then there’s colder and then there’s F****ng freezing, and in the city of Harbin that is the default temperature setting.

What on earth made AMM and I decide to nip up north to Harbin for a 48 hour mini-break during Spring Festival?  You may well ask.  The short answer is that we were lured by the chance to visit one of the world’s great ice festivals which takes place in Harbin from early January to late February each year.

A couple of hours after arriving in the city we had donned two layers of thermal underwear and wrapped up in coats, scarves, hats, gloves, padded boots and were in a taxi en route to the Festival park. It was quite dark by then, but I could still see and be unnerved by the large patches of sheet ice on the streets along which the taxi driver was hurtling with wild abandon.  It crossed my mind that if he had to slam on the brakes I might not live to see the festival. So I took action – I closed my eyes and hummed a cheerful tune to myself.

The Ice & Snow Festival is jaw-droppingly awesome. Great architectural constructions made of blocks of pure clear ice with coloured lighting inside them surround you on all sides.

The effect is surreal, gaudy, vulgar and yet beautiful at the same time.  Crunching snow underfoot, we wandered from one edifice to the next ooh-ing and aah-ing like children. Every few moments some of the lighting inside the structures changes colour, which alters how it appears.

There were massive snow carvings, the most impressive of which was one of Buddha, in front of which were strings of Buddhist prayer flags, an altar for incense burning and prayer mats for worshippers to use; from the loud speakers the relentless chanting of Buddhist mantras echoed round the area interspersed with the occasional banging of a gong, or the clanging of bells.

In other parts of the festival area non-stop jaunty Chinese pop music was playing full blast.  We wandered past stalls selling spicy Uyghur lamb kebabs, others selling hot corn-on-the-cob, or sticks of candied haws. Or you could have an icecream – icecream – in this weather, were they mad?

We ended up watching an outdoor Ice Show which had hundreds of skaters in dayglo outfits with tiny lights all over them, they did lots of different dance routines, one using ice-mobiles,another incorporating a huge sledge carrying a vast jagged metal urn blazing with fire; and last but by no means least, a really extraordinary synchronised dance performed by machinery which I (not being very au fait with construction equipment) would call ‘diggers’.

By then I was so cold it was painful, I could feel my eyeballs turning to ice. When I breathed into the scarf which was wrapped round the lower half of my face my breath froze and turned the scarf into an ice mask.  Time to leave.

So what did we do after that?  Mad fools that we are, we went for a quick pre-dinner drink in an Ice Bar. We sat at a table made of ice, on a chair made of ice (fur cushion provided), with ice walls, bar, ceiling, shelves of ice; there was even a model grand piano made of ice…you get the picture. The waitress asked if I wanted ice with my Gin & Tonic, for the first time in my life I said ‘NO’!

I’m glad we went, it was extraordinary, but it was definitely a once in a lifetime experience and so I’ve ticked it off my list.

About herschelian

Recently moved to Beijing from London - its all new to me! Trying to learn Chinese, and what makes this city tick.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ice and a slice – Gin & Tonic in Harbin

  1. marj says:

    How could you bear to use the camera or can you take pix with gloves on- cheers from sunny Herm! x x x

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog. I wanted to check yours out too. This venture of checking out the Ice & Snow Sculptures is so interesting, and I wish I could’ve checked it out as well. The pictures you’ve taken are stunning!

    Margarita

  3. John Rollason says:

    Sounds colder than summiting Kilimanjaro, but at least you had Elton John with you!

  4. Sheila Taylor says:

    Well your pioneering spirit and desire for new experiences is clearly alive and well. Made my teeth ache just to read your descriptions of the Ice Festival. I suppose we should be glad that we still have ice and cold on the planet but a short visit probably suffices! Nice to see you and A having such fun together.
    xx

  5. Mother of the Bride says:

    Wow – or should that be brrrrrr? Beats the Ice Bar in London into a cocked hat.

  6. Wow, it must have been cold for all that ice to stay frozen! Have you any idea how long it takes them to do those carvings?

  7. Dee Charton says:

    Aaah, I’m freezing just reading this? Are you a wimp – are there masses of Chinese not even feeling the chill? It seems quite bizarre, but those sculptures are mind-blowing!

  8. herschelian says:

    Hi Marj – as far as taking photos was concerned, I just kept the camera warm in my inner jacket pocket – ripped off a glove with my teeth, pointed and snapped several shots of each thing in quick succession and pulled the glove back on – hoping that at least one shot would be in focus! Seemed to work!
    Alacantara – Welcome, thanks for visiting my blog!
    John – It was so surreal seeing the DH sitting at a piano made of ice!
    Sheila, MoB, Lisa and Dee – thanks for your comments. I’m told it takes about a month to get the whole thing built/carved, and as the winter temperature in Harbin is usually around -18/20C during the day, and drops to -25/35 C at night, nothing melts.
    There are huge numbers of Chinese visitors, and unlike in the UK wearing fur is considered perfectly acceptable , even essential to keeping warm. I’ve never seen so many fur coats, jackets, hats, scarves, gloves etc – and there were even stalls selling them. I confess I was so cold I was almost tempted!

Leave a Reply

