Elephants not permitted – signs in China lost in translation


I’m rather pleased to have found this roadsign to add to my growing collection of uniquely Chinese signs.I presume it means no heavily loaded vehicles are permitted, but I just love the thought that it just might really mean that you can’t carry Nellie in the back of your van!

About herschelian

Recently moved to Beijing from London - its all new to me! Trying to learn Chinese, and what makes this city tick.
This entry was posted in Strange signs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elephants not permitted – signs in China lost in translation

  1. Shibin Zhang says:

    Ha… This is my first time seeing this sign as well. It means that forbidden the vehicles those are too heavy, too long and too high. Ha… so the elephants have them all. :)))

  2. Good to see … probably need special shipping requirements!

  3. Nick says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog post. Goodness, long time no see! I didn’t even know you had moved to China, over a year ago apparently. That must have been quite a culture shock, especially with your not speaking the language.

    What a wonderful sign. So the next time you see an elephant at the side of the road with a sign saying Guangzhou, just drive straight past….

  4. herschelian says:

    Shibin Zhang – thanks for translating the sign for me!
    Twoplacescalledhome – if a shipping company can find a way of charging extra, they will; and I expect that elephants carry lots of extra costs!
    Nick – I have lurked on your blog ever since I moved to BJ, but somehow never made a comment, good to make touch again! Elephant hitch hikers – now there’s a thought!!

Leave a Reply

